|CARSON MANSION ALMOST DEMOLISHED!
The last William Carson heirs to reside in the Mansion moved to San Francisco in the late 1940s leaving the Mansion unoccupied. When the heirs could not find a buyer for the elaborate and finely crafted Mansion in 1949, it was at risk of being demolished in order to develop the prime multi-acre site for alternate uses. Even the City of Eureka declined the opportunity to purchase this unique, historically significant piece of property due to the high cost of maintaining the Mansion.
During the same time period, Mr. J.H. Crothers and Mr. Carl Gustafson were holding a series of meetings with other Eureka businessmen to discuss the formation of a mens club in Eureka comparable to those in other progressive communities.
One meeting brought forth the suggestion that the historic Carson Mansion at 143 M St., Eureka, might possibly be obtained for a clubhouse. This proved to be true. An option to purchase the Carson property was obtained from the owners in October 1949.
The purchase was formally completed early in 1950, and the new club was modeled after the long established Humboldt Club of which William Carson was a founding member. Since that time, Ingomar Club members have embraced stewardship of the property spending several million dollars of private funds to improve and maintain the Mansion and its grounds.
Back to the top
Site © The Ingomar Club, 2007. Content may not be reused without permission.
site designed and built by precision intermedia